Dawn Kirby, Paranormal Author- The Serenity Series & Beyond

Paranormal author, Dawn Kirby is a multi-published indie author and one of the core writers involved with 7DS Books & Twisted Core Press.  You can find several short stories under our 7DS Books Collaborations and we are lucky enough to be the publisher of her Serenity Series including Secrets & Deceit. The third book in the series is currently in production. 

Secrets 1 cover       deceit kindle cover

 

Seven keywords for the serenity series: 

Rain, Weatherford, Vampires, Werewolves, Shifters, TX, Scents

Embrace your worst bad guy/girl- Why are they so bad?

Donovan takes the cake on that one. He’s the worst because he is cunning. He knows how to play people, making them think he’s got their best interests at heart when all the while he’s plotting behind their backs. He’s also patient. He doesn’t mind waiting years for a plan to come to fruition. In Leah’s case, he waited 23 years.

Recommend three books or series people would enjoy with similar tastes to the Serenity Series:

Oh, that’s a toughy. There are so many fabulous authors out there; especially in the PR genre. Here’s a few I’ve enjoyed…

~ Shifters Unbound Series by Jennifer Ashley
~ Savannah Vampires Series by Raven Hart

This last one will seem a little out of place but this author’s heroines are strong and determined. They know they can’t always hide behind their men and they are not afraid to jump in and help when need be…even if the men prefer they not.

~ The Black Lyon by Jude Deveraux

Excerpt you love from the Serenity Series

From SECRETS 

“Leah, listen to me. I can’t answer every question you have about us. There is still some things not even I know. Are we human? Not really. Are we dead? No, not by definition. We have heartbeats. Our brains function. Ultimately we can be killed. Are we magical? Some might call us that.” He paused and looked away from me. When he turned back he had a slight light in his eyes. “I believe we are, in a sense a combination of all those things. We have a soul. We feel pain. We love as humans do. We live as humans do. We will one day die as humans do. When that day comes we will answer for all that we’ve done. We will be judged.”
~ Donovan ~

Networking: Favorite social media site to connect with readers and why-

Twitter is may favorite because it’s as close to having a real-time conversation I can get. I prefer phone calls – those who know me know I love to talk – but it’s nice to be able to jump online and talk with any number of people at any given time.

Inside Scoop- Tell us anything we don’t know. Anything at all. 

Unless I have a BIC Atlantis pencil in my hand while I’m writing I can’t function.

Toughest part of being an author, in your opinion:

Maintaining patience. It’s so exiting to finish a book, sharing it with the world is the only thing that could ever compare. Waiting for the finished product to make its debut is the most nerve-racking experience in the world.

Year 2014: What can we expect from Dawn Kirby in the book world?

I hope to finish up the Serenity Series and start another paranormal series. Besides that I have a couple of stand-alone novels in mind I can’t wait to get started on. I want to dedicate as much time to writing as I can. Now that I have found my passion and the time to embrace it, I plan to make the absolute most of it.

dawn  Click the photo to connect with Dawn on Facebook. Click here for her Amazon page. 

 

One thought on “Dawn Kirby, Paranormal Author- The Serenity Series & Beyond

  1. […] all! This week’s AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT shines brightly on writer (and good friend) Dawn Kirby. Dawn and I first met a couple of years ago through the social media universe, and I’ve […]

Leave a comment